Le Mans legends lead Goodwood Revival driver line-up

| 8 Aug 2018
Le Mans legends lead Goodwood Revival driver line-up

A star-studded selection of former Le Mans winners including five-time champion Derek Bell MBE and 1969 victor Jackie Oliver will take to the track at this year’s Goodwood Revival.

With Richard Attwood, Jochen Mass and Emanuele Pirro also competing, the Revival, which takes place from 7-9 September, is positively packed with La Sarthe winners: between them, they won an astonishing 13 titles at the circuit.

The quintet cover nearly 40 years of Le Mans history, from Oliver’s 1969 win in a Ford GT40 and Attwood’s 1970 triumph in a Porsche 917K, through Bell’s five victories in the ’70s and ’80s and Mass' turn in 1988 right up to Pirro's triumphs, the last of which came in 2007.

Le Mans legends lead Goodwood Revival driver line-up
Le Mans legends lead Goodwood Revival driver line-up
Jochen Mass (left) and Emanuele Pirro, both Le Mans winners, will be racing

They'll be far from the only racing legends competing, though.

Touring Cars are also well represented, with three-time World Touring Car Champion Andy Priaulx and double BTCC title-winner Jason Plato among the many tin-top icons taking part; Gabriele Tarquini, Tim Harvey, Andrew Jordan, Rob Huff, Matt Neal, Gordon Shedden and 2017 BTCC winner Ash Sutton will all also be on the track over the weekend.

Formula One is represented by Karun Chandhok, and other big names taking part include former F1 and Le Mans racer – and current TV presenter – Tiff Needell, plus Anthony Reid and Steve Soper.

If you're a fan of two-wheeled action then you'll be similarly excited: World Superbike Champion Troy Corser and multiple Isle of Man TT winners Gary Johnson, John McGuinness, Charlie Williams and Michael Rutter will all be doing their thing.

Le Mans legends lead Goodwood Revival driver line-up
The schedule is packed with great races

So, what will all these track stars be doing at the Revival? Well, the race schedule has already been revealed, and it’s packed with mouth-watering grids.

The 60-minute, two-driver Kinrara Trophy will kick things off on Friday 7 September, while Saturday will see six races take place, among them the Fordwater Trophy, in which a collection of Jaguar XK120s will mark the model’s 70th anniversary.

The Goodwood Trophy and Whitsun Trophy will be further Saturday highlights, while Sunday will include 2.5-litre Grand Prix cars in the Richmond and Gordon Trophies, the always exciting Royal Automobile Club TT Celebration and the closing Sussex Trophy sports car race. Our full guide to all of the Goodwood Revival 2018 races is available here.

Convinced? Some tickets are still available, but they’re in limited supply and are going fast. Click here to buy yours.

The full list of Goodwood Revival 2018 drivers and riders is:


  • Richard Attwood – 1970 Le Mans 24 Hours winner
  • Gabriele Tarquini – 1994 BTCC Champion, 2003 ETCC Champion and 2009 WTCC Champion
  • Derek Bell – Five-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner
  • Karun Chandhok – Former F1 driver and now TV presenter
  • Mike Conway – IndyCar race winner and sports car driver
  • Marino Franchitti – 2014 Sebring 12 Hours winner
  • Chris Goodwin – Former McLaren and now Aston Martin test driver
  • Stuart Graham – Motorcycle Grand Prix winner and touring car driver
  • Tim Harvey – 1992 British Touring Car Champion
  • Andrew Jordan – 2013 British Touring Car Champion
  • Rob Huff – 2012 World Touring Car Champion
  • Jochen Mass – 1989 Le Mans 24 Hours winner and Grand Prix race winner
  • Nicolas Minassian – Goodwood House Captain and sports car star
  • Jörg Müller – 1998 Le Mans 24hr runner up, 2001 ALMS Champion and WTCC race winner
  • Matt Neal – Three-time British Touring Car Champion
  • Tiff Needell – Former Formula 1 driver and TV Personality
  • Jackie Oliver – 1969 Le Mans 24hr winner
  • Emanuele Pirro – Five-time Le Mans 24hr winner
  • Jason Plato – Two-time British Touring Car Champion
  • Andy Priaulx – Three-time World Touring Car Champion
  • Anthony Reid – 2011 British GT champion, two-time BTCC runner up and Goodwood House Captain
  • Gordon Shedden – Three-time British Touring Car Champion
  • Steve Soper – Former BTCC and GT1 race winner, JTCC Champion
  • Ash Sutton – 2017 British Touring Car Champion
  • Darren Turner – Aston Martin factory driver, three-time class winner of Le Mans 24hr


  • Troy Corser – Two-time World Superbike Champion
  • Jeremy McWilliams – Former Grand Prix race winner
  • Steve Parrish – Former Grand Prix rider and team-mate of Barry Sheene
  • Jenny Tinmouth – Fastest lady around the Isle of Man TT Course (119.945mph)
  • Gary Johnson – Two-time Isle of Man TT winner
  • James Haydon – Former Grand Prix and Superbike rider, TV presenter
  • John McGuinness – 23-time Isle of Man TT winner
  • Freddie Spencer – Three-time Motorcycle World Champion
  • James Hillier – Isle of Man TT winner
  • Charlie Williams – Eight-time Isle of Man TT winner
  • Michael Rutter – Six-time Isle of Man TT winner and British Superbike race winner


20 years of the Goodwood Revival to be celebrated in style

XK120s lead the way at the 2018 Goodwood Revival

In pictures: Goodwood Festival of Speed 2018